Solastalgia. Raven’s Tirade #7

Free to Download/print/use. Better readability on the full screen picture.

(Photos are from Sheffield taken by Sheffield Tree Action Group members where a grand scale treenocide is happening)

Thousand of street tree are being cut by Sheffield city council and their greedy corporate friend Amey cutting corners on their duties for better profits.

‘The Nation that destroys its soil, destroys itself’. Franklin D. Roosevelt

Lyrics also posted below

solastalgia.jpg

It started on that other Street,

I didn’t want to make no Fuss about it,

Even though I felt it wasn’t reet*,         (*Alright in Yorkshire slang)

I didn’t move my Fingers a bit.

I thought it’d be long before the Chipper,

Gets any close to my neighbour’s Corner

How Wrong was I to consider,

It only happens to Places further.

They say: Be the Change you want to see in the World!’

But I spent most of my Life curled;

Believing I’d be alright Here me and My Girl.

No Way our Beautiful Oak gets furled!

But then they showed up with scary Notices

Stating that under some vague Policies

They’d come remove all our Lovely Trees

And in Return, offering only Condolences!

We now have a wider View from our Windows

We never thought they’d come that close!

The Shutter’s always down to hide the McDoes

This place now makes us feel quite Morose

I didn’t achieve much seating on my Sofa,

All I’m left with now is Nostalgia.

Our Beautiful Oak, Gone to Valhalla,

Now I know what they mean by Solastalgia

About Benoit Magician Poet and Wordcaster

Professional Magician Artist, Writer and Word-caster, Life enthusiast, Musician at times, Mad man, Natural born entertainer and Speaker, Philosophe at Heart, Truth seeker, Sociable Loner, Nomadic Soul, Lazy Yogi, and Alternate Consciousness dweller...... Finding new potentials is my passion. Life is about expression, and it doesn't mean much if it isn't shared. Namaste
This entry was posted in Activism, amey, Artivism, crooked politics, environment, poetry, profits vs future, Raven's tirades, ruining our kids heritage, save the trees, sheffield, Sheffield city council, Sheffield Tree Action Group, spoken words, STAG, Uncategorized, vernon oak, yorkshire and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment